Highlights of Ten Years

Penny Carpenter, Ida James, Chief Albert James, and Orpah McKenzie pose with friends in front of a float plane before taking off from McDowell Lake in 1998. Check out the hitchhiking duck on the float.
Community representatives and KO Executive Director cut cake to celebrate Keewaywin's reserve status in April 1997. Shown here, from left to right, are Geordi Kakepetum, Lester Pascal, John McKay, Chief Joe Meekis, Elder David Kakegamic, Halim Kakegamic, Elder Donald Kakegamic and Alan Kakepetum.
Former INAC Minister, Jane Stewart, gets a tour of KO's web site from Sheena Loon while others, including current INAC Minister Bob Nault, observe in February 1999. Sheena told Ms Stewart about her summer experience with the Science and Technology Camp.
Keewaytinook Okimakanak participates in Sioux Lookout's Christmas parade in 1995. Staff members are known for their energy and willingness to participate in community life, both in the First Nations and in the communities where their administrative quarters are located.
Members of an early board of Keewaytinook Okimakanak: Chief Royal Meekis (Deer Lake), former Chiefs Darcy Kejick (North Spirit Lake), Joseph Crowe (Fort Severn), Jeremiah McKay (Kasabonika), and the late Bill Mamakeesic (Keewaywin) pose after meeting in Thunder Bay in February 1996. The chiefs of the member communities form the board of KO and generally meet four times per year, more and more these days by video and teleconference.
Elders, David Kakegamic, Patricia Kakegamic, Martina Kakegamic and Susan Bighead visit at the Keewaywin school opening in September 1997.

Next page